Navigate to

The University

The Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology And Sciences (SHUATS) is established under U.P. Act No. 35 of 2016, as passed by the Uttar Pradesh Legislature. SHUATS is established and administered by the Ecumenical Minority Christian Society namely the Sam Higginbottom Educational and Charitable Society registered under the Society Registration Act, 1860 in the State of Uttar Pradesh. The University is a united endeavour of the Christian community in India for promoting rural life and development in conformity with the Christian vision of human kind and the creation. The University is held in trust as a common ecumenical heritage by the Christian Churches and Christian Organizations of the country. It seeks to be a national centre of professional excellence in education and service to the people with the participation of students and faculty members from all over India. The University upholds and strives to achieve the following:

a) Responsible stewardship of the environment and its resources,
b) Sustainable development,
c) Linkage of learning and research to the needs and life of the people,
d) Justice to the minorities, and other weaker sections of the society, especially to women and the rural poor,
e) Holistic formation of the human person in, with and through the community for leadership instilled by Christian values,
f) National unity and communal harmony,
g) International fellowship and cooperation in the educational and developmental ministry in the service of the LORD JESUS CHRIST.

In all of the above, the University helps the young and old without coercion or compulsion to deepen their commitment to a life of service as exemplified in JESUS CHRIST; by means of presentation of the Gospel through teaching, worship and witness in accordance with the Christian belief. Dr. Sam Higginbottom established Allahabad Agricultural Institute (AAI) in 1910. On 15th of March 2000, upon the recommendations of University Grants Commission, and with the approval of Hon'ble Minister of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi, the Central Government issued notification No. F-9-26/94-U.3. dated the 15th of March 2000, declaring Allahabad Agricultural Institute as Deemed University. As a tribute to the founder Dr. Sam Higginbottom, who through his sincere services, hard work and dedication, contributed greatly towards enhancing the agriculture production in our country, a proposal was submitted to Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, New Delhi to rechristen Allahabad Agricultural InstituteDeemed University as “Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology and Sciences”. In view of the above, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, New Delhi vide communication bearing reference No. F.13- 7/2008-U.3.A, dated September 22, 2009 approved renaming of the Allahabad Agricultural Institute-Deemed University as: “SAM HIGGINBOTTOM INSTITUTE OF AGRICULTURE, TECHNOLOGY & SCIENCES” (Formerly Allahabad Agricultural Institute), (Deemed-to-be-University).

In 2016, after considering the adequate availability of teaching / non-teaching staff and other essential infrastructure facilities in the Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology & Sciences - Deemed University(SHIATS), Allahabad, the Uttar Pradesh Legislature decided to upgrade, reconstitute and establish SHIATS as a full-fledged University under the State Act so as to ensure successive development of Agricultural Education, Research, Extension, Science, Technology and other disciplines in the State. The Uttar Pradesh Legislature was pleased to pass the Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology And Sciences, Uttar Pradesh Bill of 2016, and Hon'ble Governor of Uttar Pradesh very kindly gave his assent on the Bill on 27th December, 2016, thus, the SHUATS Act No. 35 of 2016 was published on 27th December, 2016. Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology And Sciences, Uttar Pradesh Act, 2016 has been notified in the official Gazette vide Notification No. 1867/79-V-1-16-1(ka)36-2016 dated December 27, 2016.Vide Notification No. 2473/67-KSA-2016-900(2)/2010, dated December 29, 2016, Hon'ble Governor, Uttar Pradesh was pleased to appoint December 29, 2016 as the date on which the aforesaid Act would come into force. The Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology And Sciences (SHUATS) is striving to acquire a place in the arena of International science and technology while holding a pioneering status in India. The University offers fourty-two (42) undergraduate programmes, hundred and one (101) postgraduate programmes, sixteen (16) diploma programmes and doctoral programe in various disciplines.

The teaching and research faculties of the University have highly qualified professionals, trained in specialized areas of agricultural science and technology with several of them holding postgraduate degrees and doctoral degrees from universities abroad. The State Govt. of Uttar Pradesh had certified that the Institute is a Minority Educational Institution within the meaning of clause (i) of article 30 of the Constitution of India, vide their letter no. 4894 15-80 (ii) dated the 12th of Sept. 1980. Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India, New Delhi vide D.O.No.F.20-71/2005-U.3 dated 21st December 2005 also recognized the Institute as a Minority Institution. National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), an autonomous institution of University Grants Commission (UGC) accredited SHUATS with “A Grade” (CGPA of 3.14 out of 4) in 2013. In 2014, MHRD, Govt. of India placed the University in “A” category. SHUATS was also accredited in 2009 by Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and in 2010 by Indian Council of Forest Research Education (ICFRE). SHUATS is also ISO 9001:2008 certified institution. The University is a recognized member of Association of Indian Universities (AIU), Indian Agricultural Universities Association (IAUA), International Association of Universities (IAU), All India Association for Christian Higher Education (AIACHE), Association of Commonwealth Universities, Asia-Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions (APAARI), Global Consortium of Higher Education and Research for Agriculture (GCHERA), Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS), Global Forum on Agricultural Research (GFAR) and Asian Association of Agricultural Colleges and Universities (AAACU). Students enrolled in the academic programmes are exposed to various technical training, which enables them to develop skills in their respective fields. The University keeps the students informed about potential job opportunities and helps them in making prudent decisions for their careers. It maintains and promotes close linkages and active contact with potential employers, both national and multinational, while involving their executives and facilitates their interaction with the students through lectures, discussions and classroom participation.