Phone: +91-532-2684572
Fax: +91-532-2684394

Department of Physics
The Department of Physics at Sam Higginbottom University of Agriculture, Technology and Sciences was established in the year 2003 with a vision of Excellence in Physics. The Department currently has 3 Undergraduate programs, one Postgraduate program besides the Ph.D program in Physics.

The Department of Physics is committed to academic excellence and research in Pure and applied Physics. Programmes offered by the Department emphasize on the overall understanding of the subject with development of critical / Unconventional thinking. Focus is also on making students aware of the recent developments in the field of Physics and allied area so as to bring comprehensive outlook to the teaching and learning process. Research is carried out in the field of Superconductivity, highly correlated materials, magnetic materials, Nanophysics, Nanomaterials, micro strip patch antennas, Astrophysics, Solar Physics, low mass X-ray binaries and Cryptology. The passion for Physics is the driving force of the highly qualified and experienced faculty. The courses are regularly updated to be in sync with the changing landscape of the science and technology. The academic scenario is vibrant with regular organization of workshops, guest lectures, seminars and various other competitions. The Department has well equipped laboratories and Departmental library. Many students from Department clear national exams like IAS, PCS, GATE, CSIR-NET/JRF, NGPE, JAM, JEST etc. Many gets placed in IIT’s, NITs, PRL and other institutes of repute as researchers and scientists.