Phone: +91-532-2684572
Fax: +91-532-2684394

Department of Biological Sciences
The Department of Biological Sciences is one of the oldest and most active departments of the School of Basic Sciences. The department was formerly known as the Department of Biology. Dr. V. S. Vistel took over as the first head in 1920. Ever since the department has produced and has been headed by renowned personalities in their field. The department had been offering M.Sc. (Ag.) degree in plant pathology since long. In 2000, when the institute was accorded the “Deemed to be University” status, the biological sciences department was put under the College of Basic Sciences.

The fundamental mission of the Department of Biological Sciences is to provide an intensive, progressive and balanced learning experience to serve a student population that is highly diverse, both in educational and ethnic background, and in academic and career goals. The department is dedicated to the university's mission of research, teaching, and service. To accomplish this mission, and recognizing the breadth, diversity and crucial role of research in science education, especially in biological sciences, the department offers its students an opportunity to pursue bachelors and masters programme and is committed to offering research opportunities to all interested and qualified students. The curriculum is rigorous and provides a background in critical thinking, research and communication skills. Field trips are a common feature of some classes. Our postgraduate majors have successfully entered careers in the life sciences in public, private and non-profit organizations. The past records have shown cent percent placement of our postgraduates.

The department offers academic programme such as Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.), Master of Science (M.Sc.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)